World Of Warcraft: Battle For Azeroth Is Live, But Server Login Issues Are Happening


Update: Blizzard has officially launched Battle for Azeroth, and you might be able to play the new WoW content right now. However, if you weren’t already logged in, you may find you have trouble doing so–players are reporting issues getting online. Some of us here at GameSpot are stuck at a “logging in to game server” screen (pictured below), while other players say they’re getting in only to be unable to see their characters. That’s presumably just a hiccup as Blizzard’s servers are slammed with people trying to get online, but it’s nonetheless a frightening prospect to face.

Blizzard acknowledged at least one problem, saying on its customer support Twitter account, “We’re currently investigating an issue affecting our authentication servers, which may result in failed or slow login attempts.” It’s unclear how long it will take for all of this to be resolved, but you may not want to hold your breath for the time being. The original story follows.

The next expansion for World of Warcraft is finally here. The Battle for Azeroth adds another chapter to WoW’s story, encompassing a new campaign for players to fight their way through.

Battle of Azeroth releases globally for WoW today. In the western hemisphere, the expansion launches through the afternoon and into the evening. Those in the eastern hemisphere will get it overnight and into the morning, depending on the specific location. Here’s exactly when it launches:

  • August 13
    • 3:00 PM PT
    • 6:00 PM ET
    • 7:00 PM BRT
    • 11:00 PM BST
  • August 14
    • 12:00 AM CEST
    • 1:00 AM MSK
    • 6:00 AM CST
    • 7:00 AM KST
    • 8:00 AM AEST

In Battle for Azeroth, the Warchief Sylvanas Windrunner is marching towards the Darnassus. Depending on their faction, level 110 or higher players can side with Stormwind or the Undercity in preparation for the ensuing conflict. The expansion implements updates to the PvP talent and Honor systems, and makes a few changes to classes and specializations. Communities makes it easier for players to connect with others who share their interests.

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7Gallery image 8Gallery image 9Gallery image 10Gallery image 11Gallery image 12Gallery image 13Gallery image 14Gallery image 15Gallery image 16Gallery image 17Gallery image 18Gallery image 19Gallery image 20

Battle of Azeroth also increases the level cap to 120. The expansion adds bounties to the game too, letting you make your fortune by hunting down other players. Becoming an assassin-for-hire raises your infamy, increasing the likelihood of you showing up on a bounty board one day.

World of Warcraft is available on PC. The game has received numerous expansions over the course of its lifetime, but the upcoming Classic mode will allow players to experience WoW as it was before those many releases overhauled the game.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*